August 9th – Book Lovers Day

I am pretty ambivalent in my attitudes towards reading, the thing that I enjoy is learning. Which is why 9 times out of 10, the books I’m reading or loving are these

Essays, journal articles or non fiction books that are assigned to me to read for classes, or I need to source myself for assessments. This also means that the amount of physical books I read are close to zero since online databases are the only thing getting me my degree. That and Wikipedia. 

What strikes me as sad about this is that these books I can’t love. I enjoy them for getting me good grades but when you’re just using something for evidence in an essay, did you really love it? It’s been so long since I’ve finished a book for pleasure that I can’t name for you the last book I loved. And that’s the sad truth about a humanities degree, if you love reading non fiction, you won’t after a while. 

What I learnt from Book Lovers Day – Uni makes it hard to actually love books anymore. 

Leave a Reply

