August 8th – International Cat Day

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I love my cats, all cats in fact, but my cats specifically. Yes I love dogs too but I love cats more. Honestly, this has come up so many times I don’t think there’s anything more I can say about them other than photo spam you with pictures of my cats.

IMG_8987.JPG

IMG_8982.JPG

IMG_8979.JPG

So for the sake of doing something else, the history of cats is equally as interesting as marveling at my own.

Cats were domesticated in Ancient Egypt but during this time they were thought of more as gods, similarly in Ancient China and due to the Roman Empire cats were widespread across Europe. The spread of Christianity brought the end of deifying cats but they continued to be domestic creatures. Middle Ages brought superstition and before we know it it’s time for the Reformation and Witch Trials. Still today being labelled as superstitious creatures, cats have really come full circle from being of God to being of Satan.

What I learnt from International Cat Day – Cats definitely deserve their own day, no matter at what point in history.

Leave a Reply

