May 30th – Mint Julep Day

Finally, a holiday that includes my favourite way of celebration, alcohol!

History Lesson: A Mint Julep is a cocktail that originates from the Southern United States and is associated with the Kentucky Derby, this really plays on stereotypes as it includes quite a lot of Bourbon in it. Originally, in the 1800s, it was a status symbol. If you could afford the ice, sugar and the silver glass it was presented in, you were rich. Picture the rich Texan from The Simpsons, at least that’s who I picture, and those were the folks drinking a Mint Julep. The word ‘Julep’ itself comes from a Spanish word ‘Julepe’ meaning rosewater, and as we know Texas and other Southern United States states’ used to be a part of Mexico. It is still drunk at the Kentucky Derby today and it kinda seen as the drink of that day, a bit like strawberries and cream at Wimbledon.

So, history lesson for myself over it was time to have a hand at making one, the basic recipe off wikipedia went like this:

  • 6 cl of Bourbon Whisky
  • 4 mint leaves
  • 1 tsp of powdered sugar
  • 2 tsps of water

I watered mine down a lot more than 2 teaspoons and put in a lot more mint but all in all it turned out like this.

IMG_8953.JPG

IMG_8954.JPG

It tastes a bit like a Long Island Ice Tea except it doesn’t remind me of the time I nearly died and it is a bit more refreshing with the mint.

All in all I’m not a mixologist so I think I did pretty well, I’ll add it to the drinks I can make for the summer.

What I learnt from Mint Julep Day: Cocktails can have cultural significance so it’s important to learn where they come from. Also, it’s a good excuse to have a cheeky drink.

Leave a Reply

