May 25th – Geek Pride Day

Finally, a day I don’t have to try for! So today is geek pride day and I’m quite a geek already. A Sci-Fi nerd and a cat lover, I really have been preparing for this all my life, however I did make a bit more of an effort than usual.

Today was a uni day for me so I armed myself with my Ghostbusters shirt and just to feel more nerdy I packed in my bag a Lightsaber and a Dalek that I already owned. And although geeks come in all shapes and sizes and there’s no one person who can’t be a geek, to confirm to stereotypes I went makeup free and wore tracksuit pants with thongs.

IMG_8925.JPG

IMG_8926.JPG

So today also is the 40th anniversary of when Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope was released in cinemas so naturally being a Star Wars fan I really should’ve spent my afternoon watching Star Wars. But I already had the Lightsaber so I needed to represent the one Geeky fandom I hadn’t yet celebrated which is Star Trek, so I watched a few of my favourite episodes from the original series, starting with Mirror Mirror.

IMG_8929.JPG

My geeky day still isn’t over and shortly after this goes live I’m off to play the Tuba, a notoriously geeky instrument, in a brass band, one of the more geeky ensembles!!

What I learned from Geek Pride Day: I am already a geek and already proud, everyday is geek pride day for me.

Leave a Reply

