May 24th – Tiara Day

Being a millennial I was raised on Disney movies with my personal favourites being Mulan, Pocahontas, the Lion King and Hercules, with recent additions being the Princess and the Frog and Tangled. Of course I love them all but everyone has their favourites. So when I heard about tiara day I knew I’d celebrate it by trying to turn myself into a Disney Princess, not one of the actually princesses like Snow White or Aurora, but a cool naturey princess like Mulan or Pocahontas.

I already had most of the makeup needed for one of those ‘natural beauty’ princesses so I just needed some extra natural shimmery browns and of course a flower crown in place of the tiara.

IMG_8878.JPG

IMG_8879.JPG

Disney princesses always seem to have perfect hair and for me, perfect hair is anything but dead straight like the hair I was born with so armed with a hair curler and a floral playsuit I was ready so spend my day as a princess.

IMG_8881.JPG

IMG_8884.JPG

The day wasn’t anything special but I felt more special knowing I had taken the time to turn myself into what I always wanted to be, a badass Disney princess.

IMG_8892.JPG

IMG_8918.JPG

What I learned from tiara day: taking care of yourself and feeling good makes you a princess more than any marriage would, eat your heart out Kate Middleton. 🙂

Happy tiara day 2017.

Leave a Reply

