Why Do Musicals Make Me Happy?

I love musicals. I fucking love musicals, i don’t think anything can cheer me up or make me feel more elated than a quality musical. Whether I’m watching it live or just listening to the soundtrack (I’m listening the the Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat soundtrack right now), it will always make me forget my troubles and put a smile on my face. Now why is this? A lot of people I know don’t like musical theatre at all, including members of my family so it’s not a familial thing. I have a few theories…

The music. I have extreme responses to music, certain music actually makes me physically angry and wanting to punch people, this is mostly club music and dubstep. I don’t just get happy or sad I get insane responses and “classic musical theatre”, such as Rogers and Hammerstein or Andrew Lloyd Webber, make me happier than I’ve ever felt. It’s hard to actually verbalize what it feels like so I’m going to turn to another musical to help, Billy Elliot: The Musical,

“I can’t really explain it, I haven’t got the words, it’s a feeling that you can’t control. It’s suppose it’s like forgetting, losing who you are. But at the same time, something makes you whole… And then I feel a change, like a burning deep inside. Something bursting me wide open, impossible to hide. And suddenly I’m flying! Flying like a bird, like electricity. Electricity sparks inside of me, and I’m free.”

Now as true as this is a lot of people have these reactions to music, so why can’t I be happy without musicals.

Because they remind me of happier times. I’ve been watching my mum choreograph musicals in her high school for about fourteen years and I still watch her because nothing makes me happier than watching her work and seeing a musical come together. It’s such a team effort creating a beautiful thing and thinking of my musical childhood makes me giddy. I lost one of my front teeth during an intermission of Little Shop of Horrors, I spilled hot chocolate all over me in rehearsal of Fiddler on the Roof, I was a prompt and a stage hand in Oklahoma! and I helped my mum with some dances in Sweet Charity and The Sound of Music. This is only a few of them but they’re the happiest I’ve ever been.

Musicals shaped my upbringing, but they’re also awesome even if they didn’t. Musicals represent all I love, teamwork, great writing and storytelling, confidence and performing. As well as a connection with my mother.

Go watch more musicals 🙂

3 thoughts on “Why Do Musicals Make Me Happy?

  1. I love musicals too. I have the storytelling aspect of musicals. The songs help shape characters and plot. The sound of the orchestra is a key part to why I am able to describe all musicals as joyful. Musicals were something I was raised on since my parents took my sister and I to see musical movies and to see them live.

    Musicals are this incredible world of acting, singing, dancing, and spectacle. I love just how story-telling oriented the songs are. Of all genres of music, the songs in musicals tell a story stronger than other types of music.

    I love the capability that musical emotions have. I prefer seeing a musical live over a musical movie. I have so much to say about why I love musicals.

    Please check out my blog, it has a big focus on musicals

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your blog is beautiful and I agree with everything you’ve said, there’s just something about them it’s the best way to tell a story and the one thing that makes me smile. Thank you 🙂

      Like

      1. Some people have called me too passionate about musicals. Some people just don’t understand why I love them. Well, musicals have an emotional advantage of other types of music. It is easier to know what a musical song is about due to the song being performed right in front of you.

        When I listen to a musical song, the character comes to mind and I no longer am living in my world, but instead the world of the character.

        Like

Leave a Reply

